Support System

leadership_relookerI cannot even begin to express the importance of having a support system when dealing with mental illness. Whether that system consists of family, friends, doctors, therapists, etc., it is vital to recovery and survival.

Over the course of two days, I lost my boyfriend, and two of my best friends. I was put on medication that caused a nervous breakdown. I suffered a depressive mood swing. I relapsed. I was entirely alone at the bottom of a hole. My support system left me and it left me reeling.

Today, however, I began to pick up some of the pieces. I called my dad, I spent some time with my roommates, I talked to God, and I saw both my doctor and my therapist. The weight feels lighter, but only a bit. I’m struggling. I just want to call the boy that broke my heart – I want to laugh and cry with the two friends that walked out of my life. But, I can’t. I have to recognize the support system that is still behind me and be okay with it.

I have my family, I have other friends, and I have God. All of these people bring me a sense of peace. I feel more secure knowing that their love is unconditional. Even if my heart is aching, I know they will do their best to help me put it back together.

I don’t have much to say other then find a strong support system. Find people that you can hold on to and don’t let go. You have so much love to give in return. Never feel that you are a burden, do not hate yourself, and always remember that someone in this world loves you. If you cannot reach out to anyone, reach out to me. Email me and I will be your support. I know that if I didn’t have my therapist this week, I would not even be capable of crawling out of bed. So, find a support system. Rely on those capable of supporting you and know that it will all be okay. This isn’t forever – this pain will pass. Let others help you as you fight this battle. Trust me, you’ll need them.

I love you, you know. Keep your head above water and never, ever give up.

One thought on “Support System

Leave a Reply

