Human Kindness

hug-photo-black-and-white-london-girls-hugging-the-round-pegThere is something beautiful about being human.

We are all surely flawed, and yet there is so much beauty in that. Like I said before, I struggle to grasp that I am not a burden. My therapist, in tears, once implored me to believe that I am worthy of love. I saw so much beautiful humanity in that moment. He was no longer just a doctor – a man paid to listen to people confess their problems – but he was a very good, very compassionate man. I’ll admit that I cried when I heard those words.

There are good humans all around us. There are people willing to give everything – to love unconditionally – to offer shelter from life’s storms. We just have to open our eyes to the kindness that inherently comes with being human. Everyone has empathy to express. Everyone knows what it is to laugh, to grieve, to mourn, and to love. We need to stop looking for the bad in people and start recognizing the good. We need to find joy in both the flaws and the strengths of each individual.

I am flawed in both mind and body. There are imbalances in my brain, and there is weakness in my lungs. I suffer from PTSD, OCD, and bipolar disorder. I live a life that I at times resent. It is the kindness of others, though, that lifts me up when I feel that I will surely fall. There is something so beautiful about being a member of personhood. We have the capacity to heal just as much as we have the capacity to hurt. It is just a matter of which we choose.

If you are struggling, remember the basic nature we are all born with. Remember the kindness that exists in people all around you. I know there are those who hurt us, and that is what makes it so easy to doubt the goodness of others. Just search for the kindness that comes with being human, and remember that we are all beautifully flawed in our own right.

You are surviving. You are loved. Head above water.

Leave a Reply

