To a Friend

women-hugging-5To you,

You are not broken. I know you feel like you’re falling apart right now. Financially, you are struggling. College is hard. Work is a necessary evil. Good friends are hard to come by. Beauty is a seemingly unachievable standard. Everything, at this moment in time, is crushing you.

But I made a promise to you – a promise that I would never break.

I am here. I am at your side. I will share the burden with you. Your shoulders have to hurt, bearing so much weight. I will take some of that from you; we can walk side by side. We can talk along the way. When it seems too much, we can cry together. When the burden seems light, I will laugh with you.

Until this trial passes, I promise to do all in my power to keep you looking up. The bottom of that hole seems so lonely, I know. It seems like everyone is thinking less of you. Let me tell you, they are not. Humans are fragile. It is easy to wound each of us. There are times in each of our lives that we face seemingly insurmountable challenges. We all end up stumbling blindly through our own darkness. Can you understand, then, that you are not alone? Every person walking past you on the street has empathy to share. We all bleed red, we all cry salt water.

Your mind is hurting. Your heart is broken and you don’t know how much longer you can hold on for. I am here, though. I am right here. You have never been and never will be alone. You can do this. You can keep kicking, swimming, fighting. The waves are high, but you are strong. I am your buoy in this sea; we’ll stay afloat.

I love you.

Head above water. Right now. Hold on.

One thought on “To a Friend

Leave a Reply

