Therapy

imagesIf you’re struggling and you think you can do it on your own, you’re probably lying to yourself.

I spent almost five years convinced that I was “handling it” – and holy crap was I wrong. I had a conversation with my psychologist this week about how I learned to survive everything with certain defense mechanisms. He told me I’d become hard to read and closed off. Apparently, I have trust issues. This really came as no surprise. He acknowledged how hard it must be for me to talk to him every week. He’s not wrong. I do struggle to form the words sometimes. It’s a relief to finally open my mouth, but it’s not fun all the time.

But the truth is, it saved my life.

It could save your life, too.

I’m not saying you need therapy if your boyfriend broke up with you and you’re eating too much ice cream. There are stumbling blocks that we’ll all inevitably be confronted with. What I am saying is that if you are struggling with something that goes deeper than the surface, it’s not wrong to seek help. Don’t be embarrassed – don’t be scared. Everyone needs help at times. If the burden is becoming too heavy, therapy is a route I would recommend taking.

If you think you might be dealing with a mental illness, don’t be frightened of seeking the help you need. The truth will be a relief. Once you know, you can start treatment. That part can be rough, but the reprieve will come. You will overcome it.

If anxiety or depression is becoming a prevalent issue in your life, I would encourage you to seek the counsel of a therapist. My psychologist saved my life. I wouldn’t be here without him. I wouldn’t be functioning without his guidance. So, get the help you need. Get back on track. Swim with me, keep kicking, and get your head above water. You’ve got this.

Leave a Reply

